The Nole

Seminole, Oklahoma.  Population: 6,899

 

The place I call home.  It’s strange that when I was there, growing up in the small town atmosphere, all I wanted to do was get out.  Just go somewhere and live out my dreams of living in a big city and becoming someone that no one knew I could be.  I wanted to go anywhere bigger than a town where when you went to drive around to “clear your head” you were at the place you left off within 5 minutes.

 

Now that I’m older and live in a larger city all I can do is wish that I was back there.  Back in that small comfortable little town that I still call home.  Because it is home.  It will always be home to me.

 

Seminole, or “The Nole” to those from there, is a place where I can go to get away from my troubles.  It’s a place where I don’t have to be doing anything and have the greatest time of my life.  It’s a place where I can sit around a bonfire with my closest friends and shoot the shit all night while listening to country music from somebody’s truck stereo.  It’s a place where I don’t have to be afraid that my twangy accent will slip when I talk.  There are no pretenses.  No one judges you when you show up in your t-shirt and jeans with muddy boots and worn out Carhartt on.  Because they understand.  It’s not a popularity contest.  You just have to sit there and just…be.

4 thoughts on “The Nole

  1. I let my accent slide all the time. I don’t care. We’re still in Oklahoma! I said “July” today, and even I was embarrassed by the draw.

  2. That’s why I moved back home. I hated the city life and city noise…couldn’t stand it in fact. Love the simplicity of Earlsboro, even if no one else really knows where it is. LOL! I’ll always have my accent but I’ll always know my sisters’ is even worse, so that makes me smile 🙂 Nice to know someone else feels the home town pull. Have a good night. 🙂

  3. confession: i love the song “seminole wind” by tim mcgraw for dubious reasons.

    big ups oklahoma!! thats where i was born! the land that birthed a moon!

Leave a comment